free online chess

Free Online Chess

Share and you will reveal!
Quirky name, real hobbies
[ Sign up | Log in | Guest ] (beta)
nwadvana ♡ 54 ( +1 | -1 )
How to mate with King & Rook vs King & Knight?.. Recently i traded down to a "winning" endgame against a strong opponent, I had a rook and King against a Knight and King. I thought it would be a easy win, but i was wrong, the game went into a century of moves, and ended with a draw (50 move rule). I tried to trap the Knight but the opposing king was always there saving it. Is there a method for this type of endgame? If there is, i was unlucky becuase that would of been my first game where i would of beat a master :-(.

Regards,

Naren
parrvert ♡ 5 ( +1 | -1 )
I think if the King and Knight stay together you cannot win.
nwadvana ♡ 21 ( +1 | -1 )
Ive seen some games where the king is on the edge and the knight is trapped by the rook. But surely if the king is in the center this can be tricky, and going over the 50 move rule is likely. I'll search for the answer. :-)
zdrak ♡ 16 ( +1 | -1 )
As long as the K and N are kept closely together, and the defending player makes no obvios blunder, a win is impossible. Even at the edge of the board. Only if the K and N are far apart is a win possible.
nwadvana ♡ 29 ( +1 | -1 )
ok, I see, pity that they dont show this in most endgame books. It should be important to know this, in the game i let the opponent take my last pawn, with the intention that i had a won game. Sorry to doubt you Zdrak.. But is this theoretically proven... That a K & N vs K & R is =

nottop ♡ 78 ( +1 | -1 )
It is shown R. FIne covers this (and about everything else) in "Basic Chess Ending" (my edition page 488).

It is generally a draw if the side with the knight stays in the center and keeps the knight close. But from the examples, center of board might be bishops file eighth rank - he's not talking about the center of the board as we talk about in openings.

He gives some interesting examples with the King forced to the a file. From the same position it might be won or drawn depending on the move.

There is also an example with the Knight caught in the center and the king and rook can combine mate and knight stalemate threats.

Pretty complex stuff. If I were playing this endgame I would want to review that resource.
nwadvana ♡ 15 ( +1 | -1 )
Thanks for all the feedback, it is worth reviewing such endgames, though they dont frequently occur, they can make a difference to the outcome of a game.
lespaul ♡ 58 ( +1 | -1 )
It must be... Well it must be possible.

Because there are two simple ways you could lose the knight (obviously), one being to get the knight between your rook and his king, but the knight and king would need to be at least 2 spaces apart.
The only other way, as i see it, is to threaten the knight with your king and then try to take it with your rook.

Both of these would take a rather bad defender, which isn't likely seeing as they've gotten this far in the game.

I would try (probably unsuccessfully :P) to simply work around the knight and checkmate anyway.
nwadvana ♡ 49 ( +1 | -1 )
Well ive looked up some theory on this and there are two possibilities.


1) If the opposing king and Knight can centralise, then it will be a draw. Of course, if your playing a weaker opponent you can always try to win the Knight, keeping in mind the 50 move rule.

2) if the Opposing king is on the 7th or 8th rank, then the Knight can be trapped by the King and Rook. Although it is a very lengthy process and correct technique is required.

Thanks for all the feedback. It may seem rare but such endgame positions should be revised :-)

atrifix ♡ 9 ( +1 | -1 )
In general this ending is a draw. If you need to win, make sure you can keep at least one set of pawns on.
calmrolfe ♡ 11 ( +1 | -1 )
You can win with K & R If you can drive the enemy King to the edge of the Board and separate the King from it's Knight

Kind regards,

Cal
zdrak ♡ 23 ( +1 | -1 )
Dear calmrolfe,

Yes, indeed IF you can separate the king from the knight, you will win, however against an accurate defender this is not possible - assuming we start out from a position in which the K+N present a tight defensive formation.

calmrolfe ♡ 34 ( +1 | -1 )
:) For example, let us consider

White King at f1, White Knight at b2, Black King at f3 and Black Rook at d6

White King has been driven to f1 and Black would like to checkmate it by moving the Rook to d1, this is presently not possible as the Black Knight defends the square, however, the simple move R to d2 wins easily....

Merry Christmas.

Cal